goTaiping Everlasting Peace
                                                    Taiping, Perak, Malaysia


Kings of the Hill

Tuesday November 25, 2008
Kings of the hill

CAR workshop owner Eddy Wong and co-driver Romey Julius proved their victory at the Larut Hill International 4X4 Challenge last year was no fluke when they repeated the feat this year in Taiping recently.

Wong, 43, who is based in Kuala Lumpur, and Julius also bagged the King of the Hill trophy.

“One must use the correct car as the event is a rally and not an off-road event,” Wong said after receiving the Sultan Azlan Shah challenge trophy and the King of the Hill trophy from Aulong assemblyman Yew Tian Hoe.

“Secondly, one must have experience. I have been involved in rallying for the past five years,” said Wong who drove a Mitsubishi L200.

Wong and Julius won the event with an accumulated time of 34mins and 36sec.

Apart from the two trophies, Wong and Julius went home with RM3,000.

The event was flagged off by Taiping MP Nga Kor Ming.

A day earlier, 17 participants underwent a qualifying stage at the Malakoff Estate in Kamunting and high speed stages in Aulong.

Only 14 participants qualified for the Race To The Clouds, a speedy drive up to Bukit Larut which stood at 1,100m above sea level. It was quite a challenge as the only access road to the top had several hairpin curves.

By the end of the day, all 14 finalists completed the race safely. One of the jeeps was slightly damaged after it rammed into the side of the hill while taking a hairpin curve.

The organiser only managed to draw two foreign teams, one each from Australia/Scotland and France/Germany.

In conjunction with the event, an auto carnival was held at the Taiping Lake Garden.

The event was jointly organised by Persatuan Pemotoran Malaysia (PPM) and Four-trax 4X4 Academy and endorsed by the Perak Tourism Office.

Event secretary Steven Ng said the competition was meant to further promote the sports among 4X4 enthusiasts.

The second place went to Brett Macnamara/Chris Wil of the Australia/Scotland team who drove a Land Rover and recorded a time of 35min and 46sec. They went home with RM2,000 and trophies.

The third spot went to Chen Siong Song/She Hock Eng who bagged RM1,000. The duo who droved an Isuzu clocked a time of 36mins and 43sec.

 -- The Star --
 Top of page

 Print this page    |   Bookmark this page